PDA

View Full Version : Valentin13 Spam


Deadlock
12-05-2010, 07:21 AM
Anyone else getting this?


This is a message from Valentin13 at iSketch Forum ( http://www.isketchforum.net/index.php ). The iSketch Forum owners cannot accept any responsibility for the contents of the email.

To email Valentin13, you can use this online form:
http://www.isketchforum.net/sendmessage.php?do=mailmember&u=5197

OR, by email:
mailto:craetras@incognitomail.net (craetras@incognitomail.net)

This is the message:

Hi there Kenn

You dont know me but I know who you are.

Is this you in the videos on this page : http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn"]http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn[/URL ([URL="http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn%22%5Dhttp://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn%5B/URL)]

http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn"]http://videostube.zapto.org/my.jpghttp://videostube.zapto.org/mygirl.jpg[/URL ([URL="http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn%22%5D%5BIMG%5Dhttp://videostube.zapto.org/my.jpg%5B/IMG%5D%5BIMG%5Dhttp://videostube.zapto.org/mygirl.jpg%5B/IMG%5D%5B/URL)]


Haven't clicked the links as I've no idea what might happen ... spammy.

db1986
12-05-2010, 09:56 AM
We have a new member named Valentin13, who is indeed member number 5197. Perhaps this member should explain why they think your name is Kenn.

NoHints
12-05-2010, 11:02 AM
They've used the option to send you an e-mail through the forum (you can turn this option off here (http://www.isketchforum.net/profile.php?do=editoptions) in your settings).

From Google, other people are saying this link is a virus (doesn't mean it is though), and other people have been getting near identical messages recently too. They've also used a temporary e-mail account (incognitomail). I'd say the chances of this member being a real person are slim, and the chances of getting a reply from them are even slimmer.

I'd advise you to report to a forum mod if you haven't already.

Mindraker
12-05-2010, 01:00 PM
Similar (almost identical) PM spam happens on other forums leading to this web page.

Deadlock
12-05-2010, 08:49 PM
Thanks for all the replies and advice.

I would suggest then that Valentin13 should be banned from the forum for spreading malicious virii / spam?

db1986
12-05-2010, 09:22 PM
I also found this from a Google Search on Incognito Mail (http://script.wareseeker.com/Remotely-Hosted/incognito-mail-1.0.zip/30b553422e)

Incognito Mail allows you to register at other websites without giving away your own e-mail address. Instead, create a temporary e-mail account that�ll last 60 Minutes. Enough time to receive e-mails that contain activation or download links, and to reply to e-mails that ask for confirmation. The website lets you create a random address or choose your own name.

I would say that it is spam, also based on this similar report on the DVD Talk Forums (http://forum.dvdtalk.com/forum-feedback-support/573601-spam-pm.html).

Edit: Found another spam report just like it: inthemix.com.au (http://www.inthemix.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=273635)

Jmac
24-05-2010, 07:05 PM
I just got the same message from Clevelan18 . (well, except he put Jmac instead of Kenn). also using incognito mail, and I suggest he be banned as well.

TempusFugit
24-05-2010, 07:16 PM
Duly done and noted.

Please be aware that the Mod Team are doing everything we can to prevent this from happening. I shouldn't have to say don't click on the links if you don't know the person who has sent you a private message or spammed the forum - but I will, for safety's sake.

Keep on reporting them so that we can ban them quickly and efficiently :)

2.0
24-05-2010, 09:07 PM
I want to add that fellow members can use the link tags to keep the forum from making live urls out of pasted addresses.

db1986
24-05-2010, 10:59 PM
I was logged onto the forum for the vast majority of the afternoon (UK time) and noticed that this member was private messaging almost the entire duration of their stay. I wonder if more people were affected by these rogue e-mails.

You dont know me but I know who you are.
Plus if anyone writes something like that, I wouldn't be willing to trust them anyway.

Thanks to the mods for their swift action :)

NoHints
25-05-2010, 02:11 PM
If the new e-mails were giving the same links as the old ones, perhaps you should add "zapto" or something to the word filters, so that the links never work if sent again.

Personally, I wouldn't trust someone who writes "You dont know me but I know who you are" anyway.

Mindraker
25-05-2010, 02:13 PM
Plus if anyone writes something like that, I wouldn't be willing to trust them anyway.

:twisted: What, not the Hollywood mindset?

Jmac
25-05-2010, 11:19 PM
If the new e-mails were giving the same links as the old ones, perhaps you should add "zapto" or something to the word filters, so that the links never work if sent again.


yeah same videostube.zapto links again, just with the username at the end. So if there was a way to block the word zapto on the private messages on the forum that would probably solve this spam problem.

oh by the way nohints... You dont know me, but i know who you are!:twisted:

db1986
26-05-2010, 03:46 PM
yeah same videostube.zapto links again, just with the username at the end. So if there was a way to block the word zapto on the private messages on the forum that would probably solve this spam problem.

Perhaps there is a way of blocking e-mail verifications from accounts with the suffix incognitomail.net so that only people with fixed e-mail accounts can join.

Bellicimo
28-05-2010, 05:04 PM
A new one.. ChongPes

Same link again but with bellicimo.

spectre
29-05-2010, 03:51 AM
ah and i was so excited to see that i had a new private message.
lame.

Mindraker
29-05-2010, 12:33 PM
Perhaps there is a way of blocking e-mail verifications from accounts with the suffix incognitomail.net so that only people with fixed e-mail accounts can join.

Some sites do, just by not "immediately" sending the response to the email. It's annoying to have to wait an hour for your game code, but it's effective.

NoHints
29-05-2010, 01:26 PM
The ChongPes account didn't use incognitomail anyway, they used a different one so I predict blocking incognitomail would do more or less nothing.

I definitely think the word zapto or equivalent should be blocked by now, since it's been sent out at least 4 times from different accounts (hopefully from different IPs, because an IP ban would have been too easy?).

storm
29-05-2010, 02:41 PM
ah and i was so excited to see that i had a new private message.
lame.

-ditto- :P

I had one from clevelan18 as well, but by the the time I saw the message clevelan18 had been banned. Swift work, mods.

db1986
29-05-2010, 09:29 PM
I had one from clevelan18 as well, but by the the time I saw the message clevelan18 had been banned.

I felt a bit left out not getting one of these spam PMs, and then it came from ChongPes. Again, they were logged on all day in either e-mailing mode or in PM mode.

Swift work, mods.

This swift work is greatly appreciated :)

Capt_Sparrow
29-05-2010, 10:43 PM
I'm guessing this is why 153 members have logged on in the last 24 hours? o_o

db1986
29-05-2010, 11:04 PM
Whoa, that's crazier than when we had 150+ guests online at one time :s

jenni939706
29-05-2010, 11:49 PM
its up to 190 now...are most of those spammers?

moobydick
30-05-2010, 12:37 AM
must be all the banned users wanting to have their say

830
06-07-2010, 06:35 PM
There's another one, GroverBe.

Mindraker
06-07-2010, 06:40 PM
must be all the banned users wanting to have their say

LOL, of course, that it's not their fault. Or that it's the admin's fault :D