![]() |
Thanks to all who have used the ads, they'll be gone soon :D |
|
|
|||||||
| General Discussion The place to talk about non iSketch related stuff. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Anyone else getting this?
[b]This is a message from Valentin13 at iSketch Forum ( [url]http://www.isketchforum.net/index.php[/url] ). The iSketch Forum owners cannot accept any responsibility for the contents of the email. To email Valentin13, you can use this online form: [url]http://www.isketchforum.net/sendmessage.php?do=mailmember&u=5197[/url] OR, by email: [email="craetras@incognitomail.net"]mailto:craetras@incognitomail.net[/email] This is the message: Hi there Kenn You dont know me but I know who you are. Is this you in the videos on this page : [url="[URL="http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn%22%5Dhttp://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn%5B/URL"]http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn"]http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn[/URL[/url]] [url="[URL="http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn%22%5D%5BIMG%5Dhttp://videostube.zapto.org/my.jpg%5B/IMG%5D%5BIMG%5Dhttp://videostube.zapto.org/mygirl.jpg%5B/IMG%5D%5B/URL"]http://videostube.zapto.org/Kenn"][IMG]http://videostube.zapto.org/my.jpg[/IMG][IMG]http://videostube.zapto.org/mygirl.jpg[/IMG][/URL[/url]] [/b] Haven't clicked the links as I've no idea what might happen ... spammy.
__________________
"I done a lot of things I ain't proud of. And the things I am proud of, are disgusting." - Moe Syzlak Last edited by 2.0; 24-05-2010 at 09:05 PM. Reason: deactivated the links to prevent accidental clicking. Feel free to copy and paste at your own risk. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
We have a new member named Valentin13, who is indeed member number 5197. Perhaps this member should explain why they think your name is Kenn.
__________________
|
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
They've used the option to send you an e-mail through the forum (you can turn this option off here in your settings).
From Google, other people are saying this link is a virus (doesn't mean it is though), and other people have been getting near identical messages recently too. They've also used a temporary e-mail account (incognitomail). I'd say the chances of this member being a real person are slim, and the chances of getting a reply from them are even slimmer. I'd advise you to report to a forum mod if you haven't already. Last edited by NoHints; 12-05-2010 at 11:29 AM. |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Similar (almost identical) PM spam happens on other forums leading to this web page.
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks for all the replies and advice.
I would suggest then that Valentin13 should be banned from the forum for spreading malicious virii / spam?
__________________
"I done a lot of things I ain't proud of. And the things I am proud of, are disgusting." - Moe Syzlak |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
I also found this from a Google Search on Incognito Mail (http://script.wareseeker.com/Remotely-Hosted/incognito-mail-1.0.zip/30b553422e)
Quote:
Edit: Found another spam report just like it: inthemix.com.au
__________________
Last edited by db1986; 12-05-2010 at 09:25 PM. |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
I just got the same message from Clevelan18 . (well, except he put Jmac instead of Kenn). also using incognito mail, and I suggest he be banned as well.
__________________
Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true.
|
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Duly done and noted.
Please be aware that the Mod Team are doing everything we can to prevent this from happening. I shouldn't have to say don't click on the links if you don't know the person who has sent you a private message or spammed the forum - but I will, for safety's sake. Keep on reporting them so that we can ban them quickly and efficiently :)
__________________
![]() |
| The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TempusFugit For This Useful Post: | ||
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
I want to add that fellow members can use the [noparse]link[/noparse] tags to keep the forum from making live urls out of pasted addresses.
__________________
TTP IT IS TIME. RIGHT NOW.
|
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
I was logged onto the forum for the vast majority of the afternoon (UK time) and noticed that this member was private messaging almost the entire duration of their stay. I wonder if more people were affected by these rogue e-mails.
Plus if anyone writes something like that, I wouldn't be willing to trust them anyway. Thanks to the mods for their swift action :)
__________________
Last edited by db1986; 24-05-2010 at 11:04 PM. |
| The Following User Says Thank You to db1986 For This Useful Post: | ||
Casta_Diva (24-05-2010) | ||
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
If the new e-mails were giving the same links as the old ones, perhaps you should add "zapto" or something to the word filters, so that the links never work if sent again.
Personally, I wouldn't trust someone who writes "You dont know me but I know who you are" anyway. |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
oh by the way nohints... You dont know me, but i know who you are!
__________________
Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true.
|
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Perhaps there is a way of blocking e-mail verifications from accounts with the suffix incognitomail.net so that only people with fixed e-mail accounts can join.
__________________
|
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
A new one.. ChongPes
Same link again but with bellicimo. |
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
ah and i was so excited to see that i had a new private message.
lame. |
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Some sites do, just by not "immediately" sending the response to the email. It's annoying to have to wait an hour for your game code, but it's effective.
|
|
#18
|
|||
|
|||
|
The ChongPes account didn't use incognitomail anyway, they used a different one so I predict blocking incognitomail would do more or less nothing.
I definitely think the word zapto or equivalent should be blocked by now, since it's been sent out at least 4 times from different accounts (hopefully from different IPs, because an IP ban would have been too easy?). |
|
#19
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
I had one from clevelan18 as well, but by the the time I saw the message clevelan18 had been banned. Swift work, mods.
__________________
Life is the art of drawing without an eraser (John Gardner)
|
|
#20
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
|
|
#21
|
||||
|
||||
|
I'm guessing this is why 153 members have logged on in the last 24 hours? o_o
__________________
Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
|
|
#22
|
||||
|
||||
|
Whoa, that's crazier than when we had 150+ guests online at one time :s
__________________
|
|
#23
|
||||
|
||||
|
its up to 190 now...are most of those spammers?
__________________
<3 Friendsies <3 |
|
#24
|
||||
|
||||
|
must be all the banned users wanting to have their say
|
|
#25
|
|||
|
|||
|
There's another one, GroverBe.
|
![]() |
| Tags |
| redundant posts |
|
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|